Image

Well Done United. Well Done.

I flew United for the first time in a long time and I’ve got to say, I LOVE their safety video. It is WEIRD. For example, there is a family on the ledge of the sky deck of the Sears tower (not the ledge of the building but these glass cutouts they made so you can step out) and a flight attendant appears OUT OF NOWHERE from the bottom of the outside and starts the spiel on oxygen masks. Classic! I mean here she is 1353 feet in the air talking about oxygen masks. Genius!

And then I wondered how much discussion went into having the Chinese flight attendant in the shot from China. This one was quickly followed with some alpacas grazing somewhere…I love alpacas. And hate selfie sticks (there was a selfie stick in the alpaca scene) and that dumb see-through divider between economy and first class. Rude.

The point of all this is to say that I’m on my flight heading to Puerto Rico. My bag is too heavy (45.5 pounds) and I’ll definitely have to leave stuff at the hotel in San Juan to pick up at the end of biking (they already said that was fine) but I honestly didn’t know what to part with while packing. We’re going to have to use 5.4 pounds of stuff since I’m flying Spirit on the way home and their limit is 40 pounds. Ridic I know. I had no idea their baggage policies were stricter than the North/South Korean border. Lesson learned. Never again.

Anyways I’m hellah excited for the trip and can’t believe it’s here. I have spent countless hours planning it. Am I nervous? Duh. I bought a can of pepper spray for pete’s sake! But onward and southward I go.

It all started a few months ago when I got an email from an online cycling magazine. It listed some of the best rides in America. I sent it to a friend, let’s call him GVP, and out of all of them, the only one I was interested in was Puerto Rico. The price was higher than I was able to pay and the pace faster than I was able to go. We did some preliminary searches and found crazy guy on a bike so we decided to have our own go at it and bought some folding bikes and our tickets to San Juan.

And here we are. Well, here I am. I’m on my first flight of two. GVP is on his way to the airport (and his flight is conveniently my second!). We arrive to Puerto Rico at 2:40AM (which is more ridiculous than Spirit’s baggage policies but we wanted to maximize our day in San Juan…which is good because actually we have some cue cards to finish!)!

Que nos vaya bien!

Because riding bikes has no language; that’s why I love riding my bike.

Leave a Reply

